Automobile Accidents Wrongful Death Trucking Accidents Drunk Drivers Work Injuries Motorcycle Accidents

TEXTING WHILE DRIVING

TEXTING WHILE DRIVING IS NOW ILLEGAL

According to Texas Department of Transportation (“TXDOT”), 455 people were killed and more than 3,000 seriously injured in 2016 in crashes related to distracted driving in Texas.  The TXDOT has also determined that 1 in 5 crashes involves driver distraction. 

The National Highway Safety Administration (“NHSA”) notes that texting is the most alarming distraction while driving.   According to NHSA, “sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for 5 seconds. At 55 mph, that's like driving the length of an entire football field with your eyes closed.”

Thankfully, on May 6, 2017, Governor Greg Abbott signed into law House Bill 62, which bans texting while driving in the State of Texas. The law goes into effect on September 1, 2017.

The texting ban provides the following penalties:

  • a fine of $25-99 for first-time offenders, and $100-200 for repeat offenders; or
  • if an crash caused by texting and driving results in the death or serious bodily injury of another person, the at-fault driver can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000 and/or confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 1 year.

The full text of House Bill 62 can be found here

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

If you or a loved one is a victim of an accident caused by the at-fault driver’s texting while driving, call the Law Offices of Alexander M. Gurevich at (713) 224-9600 to connect with an experienced  Houston accident attorney.  Your initial consultation is free of charge, and if we agree to accept your case, we work on a contingent fee basis. This means you pay for our services only if you receive a monetary award.

Copyright © Houston Attorney | Website Developed & Optimized By Webopts